Equipment list

Rheometry

Equipment Supervisor Email Location
Controlled Strain Rheometer (HAAKE) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 114
Controlled Stress Rheometer Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
Controlled Stress Rheometer AR-G2 Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Filtration Rig (AR I; Direct Air Driven) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au
Filtration Rig (AR II; Direct Air Driven) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au
Filtration Rig (Mk I) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au
Fitration Rig (Mk II) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au
Filtration Rig (Mk III; High Pressure) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au
Intrinsic Viscometer (Schott ViscoDoser AUS 20) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
LUMifuge Shane Usher spusher@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101
Twin Drive Rheometer MCR 702 (Anton Paar) Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 101

Microscopy, Particle & Surface Analysis

Equipment Supervisor Email Location
AnaLight Bio200: DPI (Farfield) Nadja Bertleff nadja.bertleff@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Quinn Besford besford.q@unimelb.edu.au
Atomic Force Microscope (AFM; Asylum MFP-3D) Pietro Tomanin ppacchin@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.16
Md. Arifur Rahim
Atomic Force Microscope (AFM; Nanowizard BioAFM) Gyeongwon Yun gyeongwon.yun@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.16
Md. Arifur Rahim ma.rahim@unimelb.edu.a
Binary Gas Adsorption (BELSORP-BG) Liang Liu liang.liu@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G.09
Catalyst Evaluation (Belsorp BELCAT)‡ Ranjeet Singh ranjeet.singh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 154, 4.03
Confocal TCSPC fluorescence microscope (Leica) Paul Brannon paul.brannon@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.17
Elemental Analyser (Leco Trumac) Erico de Godois BaroniĀ  ericod@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.26
Nature Poddar npoddar@student.unimelb.edu.au
Ellipsometer Alessia Weiss aweiss1@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.11
Qizhi Zhong qizhiz@student.unimelb.edu.au
Instron 5848 Microtester Javad Jafari Bldg 167, 209
Instron 5944 2 kN Microtester Katarzyna Somszor Bldg 167, 209
Mitchell Sesso
Interfacial Tension Instrument Wen (April) Li wenl4@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 211
Inverted Microscope with CCD Digital Camera Andrea O’Connor andreajo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, B1
Malvern Mastersizer 3000 Raul Cavalida raul.cavalida@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 1.1
Potentiostat/Galvanostat with FRA Pavel Cherepanov pavel.cherepanov@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Scanco microCT 50 Peter Vee Sin Lee pvlee@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 170, E111
Fatemeh Malekipour fmal@unimelb.edu.au
Shimadzu GPC Malls Aqueous Light Scattering Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
TAXT2 Texture Analysis (TA Instruments) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
Xray Diffractometry (XRD) Liz Goodall liz.goodall@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, G04
Zeta Probe (Colloidal Dynamics) George Franks gvfranks@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 1st Fl
Zetasizer (Malvern) Christina Cortez christina.cortez@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Pietro Tomanin ppacchin@student.unimelb.edu.au

Spectroscopic Analysis

Equipment Supervisor Email Location
ASAP 2010 (Micrometics) Ranjeet Singh ranjeet.singh@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 154, 4.04
Atomic Absorption Spectrometer (AAS) Thomas Moore t.moore7@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G03
Fluoresence Spectrophotometer (Fluorolog; Horiba) Francesca Cavalieri francesca.cavalieri@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165,1.12A
Marcin Wojnilowicz m.wojnilowicz@student.unimelb.edu.au
Fluorimeter (Cary Eclipse) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
FT-IR Spectrometer (Bruker) Samantha Kristufek samantha.kristufek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Gan Lin glin1@student.unimelb.edu.au
ICP (Varian) Alex Duan duanx@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G03
Augustine Doronila adoro@unimelb.edu.au
Microplate Reader Infinite M200 Pro (Tecan) Yutian Ma yutianm@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.10
Wenjie Zhang wenjiez2@student.unimelb.edu.au
OWLS 210 (Optical Waveguide Lightmode Spectroscope) Francesca Cavalieri francesca.cavalieri@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Quinn Besford besford.q@unimelb.edu.au
UV-VIS Spectrophotometer (Cary 3) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
UV-VIS Spectrophotometer (SPECORD 250 PLUS) Md. Arifur Rahim Bldg 165, 1.18
Shuaijun Pan shuaijunp@student.unimelb.edu.au
UV-VIS Spectrophotometer (Cary; with microplate reader) Andrea O’Connor andreajo@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 2.06

Thermal Analysis

Equipment Supervisor Email Location
Calorimeter TAM AIR (TA Instruments)† Rackel San Nicolas rackel.san@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 204
Differential Scanning Calorimeter (Perkin Elmer) George Chen gechen@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G06
TGA-FTIR (Netzsch) Jack Churchill jackgc@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G06
Thermogravimetry/Differential Thermal Analysis (Perkin Elmer) Rackel San Nicolas rackel.san@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 204
Thermomechanical Analysis (Perkin Elmer) Rackel San Nicolas rackel.san@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, 204

General

Equipment Supervisor Email Location
3D Bioplotter (Envisiontec) Nick Adamson Bldg 167, G09
Giovanna D’Abaco gdabaco@unimelb.edu.au  
Centrifuge (Avanti 30; Beckman) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
Chamber Furnace (Shimaden FP93 controller) Yutian Ma yutianm@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 166, Ground Fl
Chamber Furnace (Shimaden FP21 controller) Tian Zheng Bldg 167, G06
Crushing & Grinding Facility Rackel San Nicolas rackel.san@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, Basement
Electrospray/Electrospin Apparatus Katarzyna Somszor Bldg 167, 209
Freeze-dryer (Heto Drywinner) Marcin Wojnilowicz Bldg 165, 1.15
Jianhua Li
Gas Chromatograph (Agilent 4980B) Liang Liu Bldg 165, G06
HPLC (Agilent 1200) Rebecca McQuillan Bldg 165, G06
HPLC (Shimadzu) George Chen gechen@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G19
Ion Chromatograph (Dionex) Shirley Xu xiaoyinx@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G09
Ion Chromatograph (Thermo Fisher Scientific) Shirley Xu xiaoyinx@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G09
JADE Computer Software Liz Goodall liz.goodall@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 167, G04
QCM (frequency) Md. Arifur Rahim ma.rahim@unimelb.edu.a Bldg 165, 1.18
Jenny Tran jenny.tran1@unimelb.edu.au
QCM E4 (Q-Sense) Yi (David) Ju y.ju3@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
Alessia Weiss aweiss1@student.unimelb.edu.au
Robotic Dipper (Stratosequence) Joseph Richardson joseph.richardson@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.15
Jenny Tran jenny.tran1@unimelb.edu.au
Sonicator Horns Y Strat Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
Sonifier (Branson) Sandra Kentish sandraek@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, G19
Sonifier 250 (Branson) Dave Dunstan davided@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 2.23
Thermomixer Comfort I (Eppendorf) Mattias Björnmalm abjornmalm@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.15
Thermomixer Comfort II (Eppendorf) Mattias Björnmalm abjornmalm@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.12A
Thermomixer Comfort III (Eppendorf) Mattias Björnmalm abjornmalm@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.18
UPLC (Agilent 1290 Infinity II) Jess Vovers j.vovers@student.unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 211
Vacuum Pump (Edwards RV5) Jianhua Li jianhua.li@unimelb.edu.au Bldg 165, 1.15

† Consumables (vial + lid) MUST be paid via Bumblebee for EVERY sample. Please note in the ‘comments’ field of the calendar the number of samples run so you are billed accordingly.

‡ Rates are per day – instrument can only be booked 24 hours at a time

Equipment Pricelist

Equipment pricelist
(Login required)